Satelit
Tunjukkan pada peta
  • Hari 107

    Off to wish Aunt Margaret happy 99th

    6 Ogos 2023, Scotland ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    Today I am excited to surprise visit Aunt Margaret who turns 99!! I arrived at last to East Kilbride after walking the length of Sauchiehall street to get to the station.. I think I may have taken two buses as well. I called her when I was at the bottom of her stairs around 9.40 a.m. No reply. waited ten minutes called again.. no reply.. a gentleman came along who let me into the building so I could knock on her door, meanwhile I had texted Cindy (A.Mgts daughter in law) to ask if A. Mrgt had changed her phone number. She had not.

    I knocked on her door and heard a wee voice say "I'm in the bathroom" oh o.k. I thought I'd give her another 10 or 15 minutes as I know how long it takes her to get ready and this was her big day. So 10 minutes later I knocked on the door again, "I'm in the bathroom" plaintively. Hmmm!! I began to recall her telling me once upon a time that she might say this to put people off whom she didn't want to answer the door to, so put my thinking cap on and ten minutes later knocked on the door and opened the letter box and called out "Hello Aunt Margaret, its Linda", the wee voice came back, "Linda Mackie, I'm in the bathroom"..... it sounded as though she might be annoyed with me, so I backed away and went downstairs again putting a wedge in the bottom door to keep it open.

    My phone rang and then stopped. I looked at who had rung and it was Cindy again, so I called her back " Oh i rang the wrong number Linda, I also tried Aunt Margaret's phone a few times and there was no reply, so I've sent Ronnie round to see what's happened I'll let you know!" I still hadn't said that I was outside Aunt Margaret's door.

    I saw the back end of a taxi leaving the drive way and immediately knew my cousin Ronnie had arrived so I went up the back stairs and knocked on the door. Ronnie was quite surprised to see me, phone to his ear calling 111 as, sure enough Aunt Margaret had passed out on the bathroom floor.

    So ensued a day of waiting for the paramedics to come, I helped Aunt Margaret get changed and sat up in the sitting room for a while, feeding her toast and tea. It became clear to me that she had suffered a wee TIA as her hands weren't working properly and standing on her own impossible.

    The paramedics arrived around 8.30 p.m. and recommended her staying home. She had missed her party, although all those invited had a good time talking about her and enjoying the food which had been prepared for days. the flags and balloons were up I noted when I arrived at the party at 3 pm in the afternoon. I was taken to the station by another cousin and back to the hostel around 10 pm. what a day!
    Baca lagi