Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 106

    Off to Glasgow today

    August 5, 2023 in Scotland ⋅ ☁️ 10 °C

    Today I was up at 3 a.m. to finalise the tidying of the house for my hosts coming home. They arrive at the airport at this time and I expect them within the hour.

    Family arrived home around 3.40 a.m. and after a brief catch up and hand over, I could see they were all a bit shell shocked and tired so I took myself off to catch a bus into town. Unfortunately it was a night bus, so only took me so far. Another walk into the city in the early morning, an unreal experience after the busy ness of the day. I came upon the church that Macayla and James were attached to while at St.Mary's school in Edinburgh so went inside and lit a few candles, said some prayers for my family and friends who are ill and or struggling at the moment and for our general well being.

    on my way to Calton hill, I came across the statues of these massive giraffes! They seem so real. I walked to the hotel near the place where I was meeting Mary, Mary-Ellen and Philips friend in Edinburgh to have breakfast

    I finally climbed Calton Hill and managed to get a photo when gentleman from Canada asked if he could take my picture and in return I was to take a few of him. That accomplished, I made my way back down the steep decline.

    I managed to find my way back to the hotel where I'd stored my suitcase then off to the picture gallery to meet Mary. We had a lovely catch up then Mary walked me back to the bus station where we said goodbye. It was so lovely to share with her for just over an hour. The drive to Glasgow was very quickly over and I was alighting at Buchanan Street station to find my way toward the hostel in Park Terrace, a fabulous youth hostel.
    Read more