Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 112

    Friday 11th August

    August 11, 2023 in Scotland ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    This is me 😂 on my way back from the Banksy exhibition in Glasgow then to the library to update find penguins onto Hairmyers hospital where Aunt Margaret is being assessed for a home care package. So she'll be in hospital at least for the weekend. Then off to Blantyre via bus to Hamilton. The driver let me off to catch another bus but I decided to make that sentimental journey on foot.

    The Banksy exhibition was stunning. I think it was almost autobiographical without saying it. Isn't that just Banksy tho! We aren't allowed to take photos but people walked around taking instant ones...I felt so blessed!

    I walked from High Blantyre down through Burnbank to Blantyre. Walked down through our public park which is very changed. I reached the home where our grannie and grandpa lived at knights wood terrace it's still there. I climbed the stairs and knocked on the door hoping to chat to the new owners. No reply, so sadly walked back down to the wash room and back yard, remembering all the days the steam would be rising from those disused monuments to a time gone by.

    So many changes since we were last here. I walked across the road to the station and, now on a train back to Glasgow to then catch a sub back to Kelvin bridge. A wonderful day, inspired by Banksy's work and off to Dundee tomorrow to see my friends. 😊
    Read more