Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 113

    Off to Dundee

    August 12, 2023 in Scotland ⋅ 🌧 15 °C

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY oor Megs hen, oor gorgeous baby sister, hope it's been a great day and wishing you so much fun, laughter, joy, peace and exotic adventures, with love always xxoo❤️💜💖

    Setting my sights on Dundee today I bought my all day ticket yesterday to avoid the queues! Glasgow was packed as I think this was the last day of the World Cycle championships in this great city. I said cheerio to the hostel a little nostalgic, and to "Paul", who sat under a huge statue at the top of the park, an alcoholic young man with whom I'd stop to talk to each day on my way either down from the hostel or on my way back up. He had a great boomy voice which scared people off, but a lovely soul, it made me sad to see him so "under the weather".

    An obstacle course on the way down through Kelvin Grove Park, as the roads were cut off for the race, made the going a bit tough, but, again, helpful people took my suitcase and grocery bag for me and helped me down the track! I think it's probably time I accept my limitations and make better arrangements like, get a taxi??

    The road was even more difficult as new tarmac had been layed to quite a depth at the side of the road which then dropped down into mud!! Eeeek!! Successfully down through the park, I was on my way to the subway and on into Glasgow. One last tourist thing to do was go back to the Glasgow gallery of modern art... And found a wonderful womens exhibition
    Just the thing! Then to Queen Street station to catch the train at 12.11 pm. After an hour and forty minutes, Ann, my dear friend, was there to meet me and take me home to her gorgeous home in Dundee.

    It is lovely to be so welcomed and rest in a home.
    Read more