Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    New challenge accepted!

    October 13, 2017 in Peru ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    Mis nuevas prácticas! Hospital Santa Rosa.

    It is called Santa Rosa and way bigger than my previous clinic and it is in Cusco. It is 10 mins walking to the bus stop, then the bus for 15 min then I am already there! I will work from 8-13 o clock every day. When I arrive I will help them with receiving patients and getting their files in the fileroom (paperwork). Afterwards, I can go to the nurses rooms.

    They have different rooms, vaccinations, an emergency room (really small but interesting, there was a kid with a burn wound when I was there) and the obstetrics and children observation. There they meet vital functions, ask and check if the baby's and moms are okay etcetera. I think I am going to work a lot with baby's and moms and I have absolutely NO experience in that haha.

    Children observation, information about safe sex, helping mothers with heir baby's, is a really big thing in Peru. Women don't have the knowledge we have in Europe - therefore they don't notice when problems occur. For example, when a mom bleeds during pregnancy, they have no idea that that is a bad sign.

    I will still be alone in this placement, but at least I can leave home at 7:30 in the morning. I just need to make friends in another way. Every tuesday and thursday there will come a Peruvian nurse (she went with me today, Dina) to check on me and help me out.

    New challenge accepted!
    Read more