Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    It’s Different Here

    February 8, 2020 in Peru ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    There are things that my teachers don’t know or understand about living in the United States and Canada. There are many more that I don’t know about Lima and Peru. I adore my conversations with Adela, my private tutor. We work really hard. Last week, we were talking about how I feel about the police. I’m not afraid when I see some of them here with their night sticks and black uniforms. In the neighbourhood I’m staying in, the police aren’t looking at me. I don’t believe that they see me and think that I’m a criminal or someone who might give them problems. In the US, I am afraid when I see the police. They have so much power and they can use it to discriminate and destroy lives. That is how I feel.

    Yesterday, I went to the Magic Water Park. I went with about 18 other students and staff from the school. In the entrance there were dozens of people selling snacks and drinks with carts and by hand. All of a sudden everyone started running. We moved to the side and saw three police in huge uniforms with helmets chasing these vendors. In the first place, I was only a little frightened because the police weren’t chasing them all that hard. I think that they just wanted to clear the plaza in front of the park. If they wanted to detain anyone, there were lots of older people that couldn’t run and the police just ignored them. And the vendors were running away with big smiles on their faces. No yelling or running any distance from the plaza. In ten minutes, some of the vendors were right back at it selling their stuff.

    In my class, we talk a lot about the things that you can find and buy in Peru but are so much more expensive for Limeños and Peruvians. Their salaries are less than in North America, certainly. I brought lots of bathroom stuff: shampoo, conditioner, defrizzers, soap, sunblock, toothpaste, and some other things. Although you can buy these things here, I wouldn’t have paid less for these “luxuries”. I don’t understand why makeup and personal products are so expensive here. I think that one thing that might make it more expensive is that these are things for women, not men.

    Many women here wear some pretty sexy outfits. They wear short dresses and skirts, tight blouses and pants, high heels, full makeup, and styled and dyed hair. I don’t believe they could leave the house in less than 2 hour and still do all the things that they need to do take care of their busy lives and look the way they do. However, these women are strong and very intelligent and are fighting for women’s rights. We have lots of discussions about that.

    I have a long list of things that I could write about. I’ve been here for 3 ½ weeks and I have 6 ½ more to go.

    Hay muchas más cosas que mis maestras no saben ni entienden sobre la vida en los Estados Unidos y en Canadá. Hay muchas más cosas que no entiendo sobre Lima y Peru. Me encanta la comunicación con Adela, mi maestra para mis clases privadas. Trabajamos muy duro. La semana pasada, hablamos sobre como me siento acerca de los policías. No tengo miedo cuando veo alguien aquí con armas y uniformes negros. El barrio donde me queda, los policías no me miran a mí. No creo que me vean y piensen que sea un criminal o una persona problemática. En los Estados Unidos, tengo miedo cuando veo policías. Tienen mucho poder y pueden usar este poder para discriminar y destruir vidas. Así es como me siento.

    Ayer fuí a Parque de las Aguas o Circuito Mágico del Agua. Fuí con casi 18 estudiantes y empleados de la escuela. En el entrada hay docenas de personas que venden meriendas y bebidas en sus carretillas o en sus manos. Repentinamente todo empezaron a correr. Nos movimos a un lado y vimos 3 policías con uniformes y cascos muy impresionantes persiguieron los vendedores. A comienzo, tuve un poco de miedo pero los policías no los persiguieron a los vendedores con mucho fuerza. Pienso que sólo quisieron despejar la plaza enfrente del parque. Si hubieron Quirino detener alguien, lo hubieron hecho porque habían muchos verjas y viejos que no podían correr pero los policías solo los ignoraron. Y los vendedores corrieron con sonrisas. No gritaron o corrieron muy lejos de la plaza. En diez minutos, algunos de los vendedores regresaron a la plaza y siguieron vendiendo sus comidas.

    ******* More to fix*****

    En mis clases del grupo, hablamos mucho sobre qué cosas pueden comprar o obtener en Perú pero son más caro por la gente en Perú. Los sueldos son menos de sueldos en Norte Americana, por supuesto. Traje cosas para el baño: shampoo y otras jarabes para mi cabello, jabón, bloque del sol, crema de dientes, y más. Aunque pude comprar estas cosas aquí, no pagaría menos para estos “lujos”. No entiendo por qué maquillajes y productos personales son muy caro aquí. Pienso que es un otra cosa que hace vida de las mujeres más difíciles y caro en Perú.

    Muchas mujeres llevan ropa muy sexy aquí. Llevan vestidos y faldas cortos, camisas y pantalones ajustados, tacones muy altos, caras cubiertas de maquillaje, y pelo peinado y teñido. No creo que las mujeres puedan salir de sus casas antes de 2 hora y todavía ocuparse de todo lo que necesitan hacer para parecer como hacen. Sin embargo, esas mujeres son muy fuerte y muy inteligente y están luchando por los derechos de mujeres. Tenemos muchos discusiones sobre esta tema.

    Tengo una larga lista de cosas sobre las que podría escribir. Desde hace tres y media semanas y tengo seis y media más.
    Read more