Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Getting Ready

    March 31, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ☁️ 9 °C

    Airports can be so sterile. Victoria is particularly blank. (Photo is Vancouver) However, it does offer a chance to get off the island on a new adventure. And here I go. First leg is a week with family. Then two weeks in Portugal, 2 weeks in Morocco and finally 2 weeks in Spain. I’m ready!

    This was one of those cobbled together trips. I wanted to get back east to see my dad who’s health has been failing, but it has been just years. He is sharp and has a most outstandingly devoted wife, Chris, who keeps him moving. My sister, Robin, from Boston is coming down with her dog. My twin, Michael, will be visiting for part of the time with his son, Andrew, who I haven’t seen since he was about 14 years old. Long story. I last of the gang is my half-brother Jeremy and his family – wife Rebecca and two kids, Austin and Cameron. Should be lots of fun and maybe some drama.

    Last fall, I got a call from my friend, Gail, who said she was going on a tour to Morocco with a couple of her other friends and invited me along. And why not? Sheryl wrangled a couple weeks of vacation to add a trip in between New Jersey and Morocco to Portugal with two friends from Sweden, Lennart and Kirsten. And finally, Gail and Stacey wanted to get to Barcelona after Morocco. Gail and I will do Sevilla, Granada, and Valencia too. Phew!

    I am a little sad to be leaving my pretty new garden. I just love it. Changes the whole feel of the place. It also means living out of a suitcase for 7 weeks. Most travel with be 2 or 3 nights in a place. I gotta be organized or I will spend too much time futzing with my things coming and going. Packing cubes, my friends, packing cubes.

    I’m also so happy to be traveling with Sheryl. She is the best traveler. It will be nice to wander around Portugal with her.

    Thanks for coming with me.

    *************

    A veces, aeropuertos son estíreles. Victoria es blanco en particular. La foto es de Vancouver. Sin embargo, oferta una chance para salir la isla por un viaje nuevo. Ya me voy! La primera semana estará con mi familia. Entonces dos semanas en Portugal, dos semanas en Marruecos, y finalmente, dos semanas en España. Estoy lista!

    Este era uno de los viajes construyó pedazo por pedazo. Me quería regresar al este así que pueda ver a mi padre quien ha tenido mala salud por algunos años. Él es listo y tiene la mejor y abnegada esposa, Chris. Ella se lo queda moviéndo a él. Mi hermana, Robin, de Boston vendrá con su perro. Mi mejillo, Michael, visitará para parte del tiempo con su hijo, Andrew, quien no he visto desde él tenía 14 años. Una historia larga. El ultimo de la familia es mi medio-hermano, Jeremy, con su familia – su esposa y dos hijos. Se debe muchísimo diversión y quizá un poco drama.

    El otoño pasado, recibí una llamada de mi amiga, Gail, quien dijo que va a ir a Marrueco en tour con un par de amigas y me invitó a venir con suyos. Y por qué no? Sheryl negoció un par de semanas de vacaciones así que podemos viajar entre Nuevo Jersey y Marrueco a Portugal con dos amigos de Suecia, Lennart y Kirsten. Y por fin, Gail y Stacey querían visitar a Barcelona después de Marrueco. Gail y yo iremos a Sevilla, Granada, y Valencia tambien. Pues!

    Estoy un poco triste porque voy a saliendo mi jardín nuevo y bonito. Justo me lo encanta. Cambia todo el sentimiento del lugar. Tengo que ser muy organizado en mi equipaje o voy a pasar tanto tiempo en empacando mis cosas ida y vuelta. Cubos de empacando, mi amigo, cubos de empacando.

    Estoy emocionada viajar con Sheryl. Ella es la mejor. Estará muy amable a pasar tiempo consigo en Portugal.

    Gracias por vendiendo conmigo.
    Read more