Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Family Week

    April 6, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    After an impromptu night in Toronto (missed flight) and missed bag (3 days), I have spent a glorious week with family. My dad is still alive and kicking. Chris, his wife, takes the best care of him doing lots but not everything for him. My brother Jeremy got me at the airport, and I got to spend a full day hanging out with him, his wife and two kids. It was fun if a bit noisy. Nine and 12 year olds are like that.

    My sister, Robin, joined us with Frankie (her dog) for dinner and the rest of my 3-4 day stay in New Jersey. The next day my real twin brother, Michael came down from New York to spend the day talking, sharing old stories and watching a movie.

    It was so nice to see everyone but also strange. I think this is probably the last time I will see my dad. He is in failing health and has been struggling for years now. He can still tell those old man Jewish jokes (I did not get that gene). I still laugh. Chris took care of just about every single thing. I hardly made a sandwich. It is the way she shows her love. We already talk about “after”. It is going to be tough.

    I felt guilty, but I took a Lyft from my dad’s to my mother-in-law’s in Atlantic City. It was frankly pretty inexpensive and shaved 3 hours off the trip. And I got to spend more time with Jeanne. She is delightful company. We spent time looking at old photos and walking down memory lane. Of course gossiping about the relatives too.

    Fredda, Sheryl’s cousin, is the matriarch of the family and does all the holiday feasts. Her beef brisket is to die for. I ate too much. There were 18 of us including Fredda’s two kids and their spouses and kids, Jen and Ken (never remember the familial connection), and Sheryl and I. Fredda made a point of including LGBT community support as part of the Seder. I certainly appreciated the sentiment. She can be tough, but she is also very fierce about defending women’s rights and human rights.

    Sheryl is just now polishing her mother’s samovar and candlesticks. Jeanne has 98 years of accumulation and all those things that she got from her grandparents and parents. I just hope I have her strength and cheerful spirit 35 years from now when I am her age!

    On to Portugal tonight. Hopefully I will have my luggage when I land.
    Read more