Uydu
Haritada göster
  • Gün 19

    Ecovia and Sistelo

    18 Nisan 2023, Portekiz ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    Today we hike along the Rio Vez. I love how different the landscape is from our Pacific BC and Northwest Pacific creeks. And the birds are new. I saw eight different species (that I could identify) and none of them are found back home. The European Robin is smaller and has the most lovely voice. Kirsten and Lennart recognized the Nötskrika (Nut Screamer) or what here is called in English Eurasian Jay. I found a picture on the interweb that I included here - not my shot. A little bit of home for them. They also recognized the plants and architecture of the riverside - like their home in Halmstad, Sweden. They have been teaching me a very little bit of Swedish. I really like the sound of it but can’t quite pronounce the words very well. Practice, practice, practice.

    You could just feel the tensions of the city touring melt away along the trail. While I do love a good museum, public art and the mass of humanity, the peace and sound of the water calms my soul. It is also where Lennart is most at home and brings back memories of my long summer days in Swan Lake, NY. I got some good reflection pictures and a few of those quirky signs along the way.

    We found a perfect swimming hole in the river, but the water was freezing. I couldn’t get my feet in without the tops protesting loudly. Kirsten was able to get all the way in but just for a moment. It was nice to just sit on the waters edge dipping my very cold feet in and out of the water wearing a bathing suit - in April. Sorry.

    After our hike, we visited a small perfectly cared for town, Sistelo. There were very, very few people anywhere. We did spy two older women dressed all in black working, one with lambs and the other in the garden. I think this place gets busloads of tourists in the summer months. Not yet.

    We tried to go wine tasting but it was stupid expensive. Twenty-five euro for tasting three wines at one winery; another was 75 euro for groups. The wine is nice but not that nice. We have been drinking four and five euro bottles that are quite good. We ended up buying about 3.5 lbs of chicken for four euro or about $4.40 USD or $5.90 CDN. In any measure, it was dirt cheap. As is the cheese here. We get big hunks for four of five euro.

    Tomorrow more hiking in the national park.
    Okumaya devam et