Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Peneda-Gerês National Park

    April 19, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    We hiked (again straight up) goat trails but really cow paths in a couple parts the national park in this northern part of Portugal. I must admit that the landscape was not all that beautiful to me. Also, I’m a bit over hiking only looking down at my feet to find my footing along the rocky paths.

    But the views of the mountains and valleys were great. Granite rocks and tiny ancient towns were beautiful. Sheryl drove us through the town of Gaviera. Our economy-size car barely fit in the narrow alleyways and corridors of stone walls and buildings.

    It didn’t help that we got lost a couple times. And it was too hot. I am not quite ready for 24C ( 75F). When we got out in the sun, it was just too hot, but the shade was too cold.

    But we had some good wine and grilled steak for dinner and some interesting post-dinner conversation together. All and all, a good day.
    Read more