Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Rabat Afternoon

    April 24, 2023 in Morocco ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    So, group touring. It has been a long time since I have travelled on a tour. I’m a little cranky about the herd and time limits. I’m guessing this is also just adjusting to everything from my Portuguese journey. I’ll be fine. I just need a minute.

    Rabat is pristine. It is the capitol city and home base for the King. We visited the old (11th and 12th century old) medina and the King’s palace. Our guide for this part was nearly impossible to understand at times. I miss a lot.

    What I learned was that the King is also the President of Morocco and does wield a fair amount of power. Unfortunately, he was in so we couldn’t go in to the palace.

    It is fascinating to see these places and over the centuries the influences and strictures applied and imposed by each.

    On one of our coffee breaks, there was a bus load of young Jewish men all decked out in their tallits and those curly sideburns which I can’t remember how to spell. My assumptions were that Jews would not be welcomed because of the strong Muslim culture. I think I might be wrong about that. A question to ask.

    On our way to Meknes we passed by old walls, sheep and wheat fields, and as we get closer to Meknes, olive trees.
    Read more