Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 44

    Olveiroa to Cee

    June 13, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Today was a good day. Walked with friends, we had a bit of sunshine, some rain. We stopped in a cafe for coffee, and later stopped at a picnic when a herd of cows followed a farmer and the dog (not a border collie....) and the wife through the picnic space. They seemed to have it all figured out, including the cows.

    We arrived in Cee which historically is a whaling town, and now it is a bustling seaside industrial and robust fishing centre. The first views of the sea were striking since I have nearly walked 900 km across the top of northern Spain from east to west, and the sight of water is striking. Yesterday, we saw a lake, and though we have seen a few rivers, by Canadian standards we might call them creeks, and today seeing that soon there will be no where left to walk was actually a bit alarming.

    Also noteworthy, this region is also famous for a werewolf. In the mid 15th century, in recorded documents, currently kept at a library in Paris, a group of 20 pilgrims were attacked and killed by a werewolf like creature. I have attached a picture of the creature. Kathy, Laurel and I did not encounter the werewolf on our travels, but a person is advised to not travel alone or at night.

    Well oddly enough, tomorrow is the end of the road...literally and figuratively for me. There is no where else to go, and since I can't walk on water, I will have to decide. And also finally after 900 km, my legs don't hurt, my feet are healed, my burn is nearly invisible, and my more recent spider bites appear to also be healing. Perhaps it is symbolic. All my physical challenges are healed, and so, therefore, all my spiritual and emotional challenges are also healed. I shall find out tomorrow when I reach "the end of the earth".
    Read more