Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Tattoo Day

    August 2, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    For some reason, only the post menopausal gods would know, I was up at 5:00 am. Eventually, I gave up trying to get back to sleep and got ready for my big day.

    I know it's a cliché - aging baby boomer, drives a motorcycle, and gets a tattoo, but what the hell, why not!

    I had planned to walk from our Airbnb to the tatoo studio, but it started raining, and I didn't have an umbrella. My gear is waterproof, so I just suited up and drove the 3 mins to the studio. I was met by Sara, who would be doing my tattoo. We had corresponded by email about the elements I wanted in my tatoo, and she had a design ready. We tweaked it a bit, Sara made a temporary version for me to try out, and then we got started.

    I chose to have the tattoo on the inside of my right arm. The process wasn't too painful, but as Sara described it, it was annoying and uncomfortable. It took about an hour and a half, and then I was inked!!

    We drove to Tofino for lunch and then stopped at Long Beach on our way back to Ucluelet. We spent a few hours relaxing at our accommodation and finished the day with a decent meal at The Floathouse.
    Read more