Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Lillooet to Valemount

    August 6, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    We were up early and on the road to Little Fort before 7:30 a.m. The air was cool because the sun hadn't even peeked over the mountains yet.

    We stopped in Clinton for breakfast and then carried on until I couldn't stand it anymore, and we stopped for me to make some adjustments to my bags. Because of the way I had put my bag on the back of the seat, it was pushing me forward toward the tank. After a very short time, I would get very uncomfortable and need to stop. Putting the bag in a perpendicular direction across the seat gave me more room to sit properly and really relieved my discomfort.

    At Little Fort, we stopped for a minute to say goodbye. Jon was heading back home, and I was continuing west on my own. We use a communication system when we are on our bikes, and it felt very weird to have radio silence!

    It was a hot but uneventful trip to Valemount, and I arrived at the Yellowhead Campground by about 2:30 p.m. I set up my tent, had a shower, did some laundry, and went to town for supper at the Caribou Grill.

    My tent site was beside Swift Creek, and salmon are spawning here. They were very active and splashing around in the stream. I stood and watched them for a while, but the mosquitoes were getting bad. I crawled into my tent and called it a night at about 9:00 p.m.
    Read more