Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Nordegg to Vegreville

    August 8, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    So yesterday, when I crawled into my tent, I checked the weather and discovered that rain was forecast in the area where I'd be traveling today. I decided to "cry uncle," and I booked a hotel room in Vegreville. There is only so much a 63 year old body can take, after all.

    It was a cold trip to Rocky Mountain House in my wet gloves. I gobbled down a big breakfast and two cups of hot coffee at the Rainbow Cafe before my hands finally warmed up. I also chatted with two lovely older gentlemen from the US. It turns out they were brothers who had been keen motorcycle drivers back in the day. They had traveled extensively by motorcycle, and they suggested a route for my return journey home through the US. After they finished eating, they came out to see my bike. They each gave me a big hug and wished me well on my travels.

    I carried on to Argyll Sports in Edmonton, where they were able to fit me in to tighten, clean, and lubricate my chain, which was getting a bit sloppy.

    I finally got to Vegreville at about 4:00 p.m. I was given a huge room with a king-size bed and separate sitting area. I was able to spread all my wet tent gear around the room to dry up and then enjoy a long, hot shower. All this luxury, and I wasn't charged extra. It was a very comfortable evening.

    I didn't take many pictures because, well, Edmonton is just not very interesting. Sorry, Edmonton.
    Read more