Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Vegreville, AB to Big River, SK

    August 9, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    WTF, Alberta! It's supposed to be summer, but it's ridiculously cold. This side of the Rockies seems to be getting adequate precipitation, and everything is lush and green. To my amateur eye, crops look very healthy. But damn it's cold and drizzly.

    I knew it was going to rain today, so last evening, I walked over to a nearby Canadian Tire to find a solution for my wet gloves. The best I could find were some large, bright blue rubber gloves. They are keeping my hands dry but are not offering much in the way of insulation. I feel like Jamie Lee Curtis in "Everything, Everywhere, All at Once with the sausage fingers and the bad hair.

    I left Vegreville at 8:30 a.m., stopped for gas in Vermillion, and then at 10:30 a.m. stopped for a latte at Starbucks in Lloydminster.

    After my stop, things seemed to warm up a bit, and the drizzle stopped. I got gas at Glaslyn and very mediocre food at the only open restaurant there. It had warmed up enough that I was able to ditch the rubber gloves, and the next hour or so was very pleasant.

    Unfortunately, things took a turn when Google Maps directed me to turn left onto a gravel road. I stopped to check the directions. Staying only on paved roads would have added another hour to my trip. After weighing the options, I decided to stay the course and continue down this actual goat path of a road. I am, after all, a seasoned veteran of Saskatchewan gravel roads, having lived on an acreage here for over 20 years. As I continued, though, it did occur to me that if I had a tumble, I would probably be there for three years before anyone happened by. There were no houses on this road and I passed no one. Eventually, I turned on to a super-grid where there was more activity. It was slow going, and I had a few really good wobbles before I finally hit pavement again.

    I was covered in dust when I pulled into the home of Jenny Ambrose, 10 minutes drive from Big River. I'll be staying here for two nights. Jenny is an experienced sewist and the founder and former owner of the Makehouse in Victoria, BC. We will be doing a one-on-one bra-making workshop here at her home tomorrow.

    We jumped in her car and drove the 10 minutes to Big River. I bought a few groceries for tomorrow and we had a very good supper at Third & Main restaurant.

    A warm shower and a comfortable bed were a very nice ending to the day.
    Read more