Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Big River to Saskatoon

    August 15, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ☁️ 27 °C

    On August 11, Jenny and I were up fairly early, and after a quick breakfast, I was on the road. After all the rain, the gravel roads were now slick mud roads. I had about 3.5 kilometers to go on these crazy roads, I had to go so slowly I didn't get out of first gear, and I was relieved to get to pavement.

    I had an uneventful, slightly drizzly ride to Shell Lake, where I stopped in for lunch and had a lovely visit with friends at their cabin. After lunch, I continued on to Saskatoon to stay with a very dear friend. She had a comfortable bed for me and a delicious pot of homemade soup.

    I spent the next few days pampered and well fed. I visited good friends, neighbours and former colleagues. I enjoyed seeing the familiar sights of Saskatoon and remembering the 27 years we lived here. It is a beautiful, vibrant city in the summer and well worth a visit.

    Today, I gave my bike a wash to get all the mud off, did my laundry, and then packed up all my gear.

    My plan is to leave early tomorrow morning and get some miles done before it gets too hot.
    Read more