Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Joshua Tree National Park

    October 30, 2018 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    The Joshua Tree is a Yucca on steroids, they grow about an inch a year so deserve a little respect, along the lines of you should respect your elders and like most old folk they’re a mite prickly and why not, I get cranky at just about everything now so after two hundred years or more I’d be ropeable.

    Speaking of old fools, we drove across the Mojave Desert to visit this incredible place and on walks in the desert I noticed some beautiful cactus and said to Rhonda “wow! those spines look sharp” while putting my hand down to feel them... wack!!! Oooooch! After the pain subsided my hand went numb, so finally my brain had some company.

    The camp sites are right in the middle of the best parts of the park, a dumb idea if you are trying to protect these areas but brilliant for experiencing the place.
    Again we went walking in the desert, straight out our door from where we were camping. This was in amongst ancient stands of Joshua Trees and many other beautiful plants that take a serious approach to protecting themselves.
    Now though maybe the brain is a little numb I’m still no goldfish so can remember past the last 3 seconds, in fact I can remember back to the Mojave Desert and to leave things that look sharp well enough alone.
    Read more