Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Day 3 in Istanbul

    May 19, 2018 in Turkey ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    Today was a very long day. I left the hotel at 9.30am and got back at 8pm. I started the day with a trip to the blue mosque. It was full of groups of Chinese tourists even at 10am. There is only a very small section open to tourists so I was a little bit sad that I couldnt see much of the mosque. After this I scouted for people to take photos of me 😂. Seemed to work out well because I got photos off 4 different people in 4 different close locations.

    After this I took a steep hilly walk to the spice bazaar. There wasnt much for me to see and I didnt buy anything. So I continued to Eminou pier where I ordered a fish sandwich. The fish is fresh and you can see local men fishing around the pier. After this it was time to hop on a boat to the Asian side of Turkey (kadikoy). I didnt spend longer than an hour in kadikoy because it was so crowded. But I did some shopping and noticed its literally so much cheaper on the Asian side. A pair of trousers that costs 25 lira on the European side costs 15 lira on the Asian side.
    Read more