Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Day 1 in Riga, Latvia

    October 23, 2018 in Latvia ⋅ 🌬 6 °C

    My first day in Riga seems to be going well...apart from the weather. There is so much rain and it literally hasn't stopped. I checked into my hostel and they gave me 2 shots of Black Balsam (the national drink). This hostel is really good because it has a privacy curtain. There are 2 German siblings in my room who are both very friendly. They were giving me reccomendations on where to explore and what to eat/drink.

    So I went out to explore around the old town. Riga is very quiet which is something that I an happy about. It's so peaceful and the locals are friendly which makes it even better. Even if they don't speak English they will try to communicate with you using hand gestures.

    For dinner I had grey peas with bacon which was supposed to be a starter. It filled me up! I also ordered traditional potato pancakes as a starter. The grey peas were delicious but I wasn't too keen on the potato pancakes. They were quite greasy and very crispy. I had "kvass" to drink which is a drink made from rye bread. It tastes a lot better than you would think.
    Read more