Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Day 1 in Milan, Italy

    November 16, 2018 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    Today was our first day in Milan. I am joined by Maria on this trip, and I suppose that it's a girly weekend. We got a bus from Bergamo airport to the city centre. Then we checked into our hotel which is in a good location. After this, we headed out to explore around Sforza Castle. The sun was setting and they had orange lights to brighten up the castle. We found a park area at the back exit of the castle, and went to sit down and talk. This is one of the things I usually miss out on when travelling solo. Travelling usually makes you think about things that you normally wouldn't . So when you travel solo there is nobody to share your thoughts with.

    After unwinding on the park bench, we went back out in search of something to eat. We ended up getting a glass of red wine in a restaurant. Maria wanted to eat there but I didnt. The menu didnt have anything that I wanted...or any of the best Italian dishes. It was more like "roast potatoes with chicken" and "cheesey gnocchi". I can make those at home in England. When I travel I like to try things that are not easily cooked. So we left and found somewhere else to have a meal.

    We agreed on a cheap traditional restaurant around the corner from our hotel. I ordered a seafood pasta with mussels, and she ordered spaghetti bologese. The food was absolutely delicious!. We ordered another glass of wine and then went back to the hotel. wine in Italy is VERY strong. The 2 glasses we had today were enough to send us into a deep sleep.
    Read more