Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Day 3 Barcelos to Ponte DeLima 33.6 km

    April 17, 2016 in Portugal ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    Day 3 Barcelos to Ponte De Lima 33.6km (20.9 miles)
    I left Barcelos at 7.30am. It was very overcast and cool. There were a few other pilgrims on the Caminho. Unfortunately, the way was along cobbled street and roadways. This type of route really destroys your feet.
    It warmed up to about 16 degrees. I even managed to put my sunglasses on. I walked a time with my Dutch friend. I met him yesterday. He told an amazing story how he nursed his wife through two years of cancer before she passed away. Since then, he has walked all over the whole the world and completed most of the Caminos. He even lent his home to a lady and her children who were victims of an abusive relationship.
    We parted company after late morning. I carried on.
    I knew that I was too hopeful when I came around a corner to find the path under two foot of water. The nearby river had burst it's banks. There was no other choice but to take my shoes off and wade through it to a 12th century bridge over the Rio Neiva. I stopped to dry my feet and put my shoes back on. Too soon, as I walked around the corner, another 300m stretch was under water. Back to shoes off.
    Early afternoon brought a thunder storm. It was back on with waterproofs and poncho. At these times, I usually put my head down and carry on. It is very much a time of reflection. As it was Sunday, I listened to a few Christian albums which continued with a time of prayer.
    I did have a chuckle as I passed through some small villages. The church bells definitely ensured that no one was going to get a lie in.
    I arrived at Ponte De Lima at 3pm. 7.5 hours to do 21 miles. I had to wait an hour with peregrinos from all over the world for the auberge to open. 5 euros for a bed for the night.
    Showered, clothes washed, bed made and a little rest before I find something to eat.
    Read more