Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Day 5 Tui to Redondela

    April 19, 2016 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Day 5 Tui to Redondela
    32.4 km 20.1 miles
    Today was not a repeat of yesterday of terms of someone looking for their torch. I was up and out of the Albergue for 6.30am in total darkness.
    I would like to paint a picture of warmth and a pleasant start but I would be lying. It was lashing rain. Waterproofs on and trying to negotiate a maze of streets out of the town. I knew that I was onto a good thing when I followed two Italian pilgrims who were also setting off. They looked exhausted and they were just starting.
    I realise why the Spanish side of the Camino is great. They take it seriously. The way is well marked and gravelled. No flipping cobble stones and muddy sections.
    The rain continued most of the day but I enjoyed it. I stopped for a great breakfast at 8.30am. I ordered coffee,juice and a bacon sandwich. My Spanish teacher and Estelle won't believe me that it was all in Spanish.
    I reached a point where there was an alternative route through countryside or a kilometre shorter route through an industrial estate. It was still lashing. I had already taken my shoes and socks off twice this morning to get across streams. I decided to walk the industrial route for 5 km. no pictures because you can all picture it. A straight road, lashing rain and that chemical smell that grips the back of your throat. For some reason, I kept humming ELO ' I wish I was a Wild West hero'. Must have been the chemicals.
    I stopped briefly in an industrial town called Porrino for some fruit and a drink. There was nothing else remarkable about the place. The rain never helps.
    I continued a slog up a flipping long hill and the downhill to A place called Redondela, which next to the sea. The Albergue was originally a 16th century manor tower house. It has excellent facilities. I have managed to wash and dry all my kit and get a bottom bunk. A very important point. So, it is a couple of drinks, a bite to eat and I feel a snore fest coming on. Buen Camino mis amigos.
    Read more