Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Day 6 Redondela to Rotonda

    April 21, 2016 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    Day 6 Redondela -Rotanda near Caldas de Reis
    38km (23 miles)
    I set off from the hostel at 7.15am. It was a very warm night particularly with fourteen of us in one dormitory. Some kind soul actually left a door to lower the temperature.
    It was still dark as I set off. It was the usual fun of trying to find the way out of the town.
    There was a big climb out of the town. Not a good start first thing in the morning but the reward was a fantastic view of the sea inlet called Ria de Vigo and a small quaint seaside town called Arcade. The route zigzagged through narrow lanes. They sometimes seemed pointless as I ended up a little further north of a main road.
    The weather was warm and DRY. It was very pleasant. The Camino followed a beautiful route through forests and vineyards.
    I took my walking shoes off to cool my feet in a stream. I decided to walk the rest of the day in my sandals. It felt fantastic. As the day warmed up, I soaked them in serveral streams. The water was ice cold and felt wonderful.
    After 19.7 k(12.2 miles), I arrived in a large town called Pontevedra. It had a very pleasant feel to it. A lot of locals wished me ' Buen Camino'.
    I decided to stop for a coffee and cake.i picked the BIGGEST cream cake you ever saw. Sorry no picture of it because it vanished in seconds.
    I left the town crossing the Rio Lerez and back into stunning countryside. The sugar rush really helped. I quickly passed the next 19km listening to Van Morrison. My feet were holding up well. I stopped briefly for a beer and some lunch in a small rural village. I got to the point at 38km where I had an option to stay in a small Albergue. I thought that I might continue to a large town called Caldas de Reis. It was a further 5 km. My feet decided to give a twinge. Based on that, I stopped at a small Albergue. There are only seven peregrinos here. The facilities are fantastic. There is nowhere to buy food so it will be a tin of sardines from the bottom of my rucksack.
    Read more