Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Camino Del Norte - Day 10

    June 18, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    Camino Del Norte - Day 10

    Noja to Santander
    Distance 26km (7 hours)
    Ascent/descent ..who cares!

    I went off piste today to get to Santander. The guide offers differing routes but the state of my right foot, I decided to take the direct route. Unfortunately, this meant I've 20+km of road walking. It means though that I have gained a day and will claim a rest day in Santander as a reward...hurrah!!!!
    I had a very early night in the Albergue in Noja. It was very basic. Someone's alarm went off at 5.45am. They kindly went back to sleep. I go up feeling rested and with a mission. I chatted briefly to a French couple I've met several times on the Camino and got on my way.
    I passed several drunken spaniards winding their weary way home as I passed through the village. The sunrise was a welcome site. Photo attached.
    The rest of the morning was uneventful, expect for slogging out the kilometres along CA-141 to Somo. I am glad that I set out early as the temperature eventually rose to 30+C .
    I paused briefly 5km short of Somo at a bakers shop. Coffee and cake. This was really welcome after a tough mental and physical few hours of walking. Whilst delighting in my coffee and watching grass lizards scurrying around; all of a sudden, there was a bish/bosh and the lizard was gone.....taken by a flipping hawk that landed three feet away of me. I ended up with the coffee in my lap.
    I finally arrived in Somo and was directed by kind locals to the ferry to Santander. For the cost of 2.8 euros and a 20 minute crossing, it saved me 12 kilometers on the road. I arrived in Santander at 1.30pm and depend the best hour finding my hostel for the next two days. The city feels amazing but that could be the delirium of having a whole day to rest my feet.
    My hostel is located to the ferry port, bus and train station. Cheap and clean. What more does a peregrino need.

    Hasta luego folks.

    Thank you all again who have donated to B.I.R.D and now the pics from today.
    Read more