Satellite
Afficher sur la carte
  • Jour 23

    Ourense to Cea

    11 octobre 2018, Espagne ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Ourense to Cea

    Distance 23 kms ( 5.5 hours)

    This morning was very wet. Heavy rain persisted as I left the city at 7.30am. The route out was not very clear.
    My leg and feet felt good. I took my time and eventually came to a tunnel under a train line. You had to press a pedestrian priority button to pass through a 200m tunnel. Unfortunately, the cars seem to ignore the pedestrian warning. As I walked through, I made sure that oncoming car DID wait as I deliberately held the points of my walking poles out to my side. Apparently, none of them wanted a BIG scratch down the side of their cars.
    I then had a 200m steep climb. It was hard work but thankfully the rain stopped.
    I really concentrated in slowing my pace and by 9.00am, I stopped at Casa Caesar. This is a well known site on the Camino. Caesar, a retired truck driver, welcomes pilgrims in for coffee, drink and his fantastic cakes. I was the first peregrino of the day. He really gave me a warm welcome. We chatted away in Spanish and after coffee and cake, I sampled his wines and spirits at 9.00am!
    I carried on until my fellow peregrino Ruadhri caught up with me. We walked the last 10km together. We found a fallen tree across the route and had to do some cross country waking to get around it.
    We arrived at the Albergue at 1pm and quickly did our admin before going for lunch.
    The next few days will be only 17kms. My leg felt good but I have no intention of pushing my luck.
    And that was my 21st day on the Via de Kate Plata/Camino Sanabres.
    En savoir plus