Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Castrojeriz to Fromista 25kms

    April 23, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 3 °C

    I enjoyed the Albergue Rosalia last night. We arrived mid afternoon absolutely frozen and soaked to the bone. Thankfully I got a bed next to the stove in the attic and was able to thaw my bones out and get my kit dry.
    The weather continued to be atrocious so I did not venture out. Dinner was a communal meal with 20 other pilgrims from all over the world.
    It was an early night for me wrapped up in my sleeping bag. This morning I was up and prepared by 05.45am and beat everyone to the toilets before the remaining 29 peregrinos raced for the three toilets in the Albergue 😬.
    Keith and I had breakfast and we’re on the trail by 7am. The weather was much the same as yesterday - lashing rain and 4C. This is not the Spain I know.
    Today we were walking 25kms to Fromista across the Meseta which is supposed to be flat. After 2.5kms we had heart attack hill at around 350m and back down onto the plains. We were in the rain clouds and we really could feel it. All the water obviously ran downhill onto the trail and turned the clay path into thick gloopy mud.
    We basically put and heads down and walked talking about everything.
    We quickly arrived cold and wet in Fromista around midday. I have my own room. The weather caught up with us. It is a Baltic 4C and lashing/sleeting (am I selling this to you?).
    I’ve had a beer and a bite to eat and I am just going to relax. The village is trying to have a fiesta in the main square. Bless them, it is a miserable affair in this weather.
    Tomorrow is a short 19kms with the promos of better weather. I have bought provisions for tomorrow because you really can’t be sure that there will be any restaurants or cars open. It’s Spain so you have to plan ahead.
    This was day 3 on the Camino Frances
    Read more