Satellitt
Vis på kartet
  • Dag 5

    Pola de Lena to Oviedo 32kms

    3. mai 2022, Spania ⋅ ⛅ 9 °C

    Walking app said 36kms which I believe.

    An early night ensured that our little band of peregrinos were up and ready for our long day.
    I had shared a twin room with my French peregrino Jacques.
    A great breakfast was included with our 18 euros each cost. We set off around 6.30am in the mizzle. There were a lot of confusing arrows but the locals put us on the right path.
    Today was a lot of asphalt walking. It is brutal on your feet.
    We followed the main river through the narrow valley and quickly got to a large town Mieres del Camino.
    We stopped briefly for second breakdast. The town are uninspiring as heavy industry dominates the town skylines.
    Leaving Mieres left us with 18kms to get to Oviedo.
    Unfortunately, we had to negotiate a 350-400m climb back up from the valley floor. We all set our own paces and therefore dispersed along the trail.
    I eventually arrived in Oviedo exhausted and footsore. I had intended to stay in the municipal Albergue but it does not open until 4.30pm and there are reports of bedbugs. So I’ve added a day to my hotel stop.
    I quickly completed some of my admin and returned to the Cathedral to get my final stamp and Certificate.
    The San Salvador and Meseta stretch of the Camino Frances have been brillaient because of the amazing people from all over the world.
    In total, I have walked over 300kms in under two weeks. Now it’s time to rest.
    Les mer