Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1–14

    Day 1 Madrid to Tres Cantos

    April 4 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    Back on the Camino!

    Camino De Madrid is officially 320kms long from the Church of Santiago y San Juan Bastia in Madrid and ends in Sahagun on the French Camino.
    Day One was an early start at 03.45am to get to Liverpool for a 6am flight.
    A busy time at the airport but we got away on time. Landed in Madrid at 9.30am and caught a bus into the city.
    Made my way to the starting point and got my credencial. I also managed to get a Spanish SIM card which cgallenged my Spanish.
    Made my way out of the city sprawl which was boring and into the open countryside. It was a beautiful day, 24C with little cloud. Hello sunshine! The trail was well marked in the countryside but I did have to frequently refer to my Camino app for directions in the city.
    For the last two hours, the trail followed closely alongside motorways and cycle path routes. The cyclists gave no quarter to anyone until I started holding my walking poles out.
    I arrived at Tres Cantos at 5pm feeling very tired and hot. There is not much remarkable about the place as it is a filter town to Madrid. I managed to get some food for tonight and tomorrow from a supermarket and made my way to my hotel for the night. Admin completed, I think it will be an early night.
    Read more