Satelit
Tunjukkan pada peta
  • Hari 3

    Bilbao, Guggenheim Museum

    25 Mei 2023, Sepanyol ⋅ ☁️ 64 °F

    Reflecting on my missing phone and wallet, I've considered their unfortunate disappearance. Unfortunately, the Bilbao Police informed me that the "Find My" location pointed to a neighborhood associated with Morrocan drug trafficking, making recovery seem unlikely. As a result, I took the necessary steps today: I suspended my Verizon phone and took measures to cancel my credit and bank debit cards. This chapter has now come to a close.

    Today, however, was a remarkable day!

    We embarked on a captivating walking route to the Guggenheim Museum, passing through charming neighborhoods adorned with small, family-owned shops catering to North African ethnic communities.

    Admission for seniors to the Museum was priced at €9.00. The Guggenheim visit itself was an awe-inspiring experience. While the artworks displayed inside by various artists were impressive, the true marvel lay in the captivating architecture of the building, both inside and out. I can hardly express how exceptional the design appeared to me—it was unlike anything I've encountered before. Each step I took revealed new perspectives, with the building's curves and lines constantly shifting (though I fear my description falls short). Perhaps the pictures I've shared can better convey the experience.

    After indulging in a coffee and a light snack at the Café, we departed the Museum and strolled along the riverside, crossing the one-of-a-kind pedestrian bridge designed by the talented Spanish architect Santiago Calatrava.

    We then hopped onto a cable car, which carried us to the summit of Mount Artxanda. We enjoyed a panoramic view of Bilbao from this vantage point, perfect for capturing stunning photographs.

    Upon returning to our accommodation, Kurt and I dedicated time to acquainting ourselves with the navigation system of our Mercedes-Vito Tourer passenger van, ensuring that we were well-prepared for our upcoming departure to San Sebastian on Friday morning.

    Our evening included a dinner reservation at 7:00 PM, delightfully set at the restaurant Victor Montes on Plaza Nueva (treating ourselves now and then is a pleasure). My Prosciutto appetizer and Seafood main course were nothing short of exquisite. Kurt and Renata graciously shared a delightful 2016 Tempranillo from the esteemed Rioja Region to accompany our meal.

    Our plans for tomorrow include a leisurely morning and a Mercado de la Ribera visit.
    Baca lagi