Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Sticky waterfalls and Muay Thai

    February 15, 2023 in Thailand ⋅ 🌧 23 °C

    The following day I joined Hannah who I had spoken to walking back from the show In going to the sticky waterfalls.

    Limestone buildup on the waterfalls makes them very grippy and there’s a path to climb up which we scaled couple of times. I wasn’t expecting much but it definitely exceeded expectations.

    I thought I would be too tired to do anything that evening, but ended up at the Muay Thai anyway. The first couple of rounds started slowly but it quickly turned into a pretty brutal evening. There were seven fights and for most of them slightly bigger fighter ended up winning. Six out of the seven fights ended in KO or TKO in or before round 3 or 5, with knockouts from elbows, kicks, sucker punches and a particularly brutal knee to the forehead of a fighter who was being way too cocky I’m not defending properly. I later learned he had been drunk and never should have been allowed to fight.

    The only fight which did go the whole way was the main event and provided a very entertaining fight, although the man in red was clearly on top for large parts. I don’t think there are normally that many knockouts in one night but I guess we got a good one. These guys also fight fairly often, as often as their body is ready for, so I guess a lot of them will choose not to get back up even if they maybe could.
    Read more