Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Chef

    February 16, 2023 in Thailand ⋅ 🌙 21 °C

    After a wander around the old town I had my cooking class!! Our instructor Natty lead us around The farm where they grow a lot of the vegetables they used, plus a local market Where we could see how the locals usually purchase ingredients. There was a lot more plastic packaging and premade flavour packs than I was expecting which makes me feel less bad for using these sort of things at home

    The method of cooking the food in a gas fired wok were less novel than a lot of the ingredients used. Lemon grass, Kaffir lime leaf and a root similar to ginger featured heavily with some unique veg like Thai eggplant thrown in. I chose to make a Ka Preow stir fry, Paneang curry and creamy Tom Yum soup Which were all pretty good if I do say so myself (although to be fair most of the credit should go to Natty for her instructions).

    I thought I would pass out as soon as I got back home, but somehow got persuaded to join a couple of my classmates for a beer and a visit to Zoe in Yellow, A bar I remember seeing Zoe go to on her travels. I absolutely would recommend although the Tuk Tuk right back was a bit hairy with four of us crammed in.

    I’ve enjoyed Chiang Mai so far, there’s lots to do at my hostel makes it impossible not to get out and about, but I have found it hard to maintain a constant group of people as everyone here is doing stuff during the day and night and everyone is also heading in all directions afterwards. Oh well I will find some people I can settle into travelling with later as people tend to move the same direction in Laos, But for now I’m just throwing myself at all the activities.
    Read more