Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 60

    Adventure by the sea shore

    August 15, 2021 in Canada ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    I am still at Louisburg lighthouse trail, but I am past the part with all the violent history. Or at least nowhere they thought significant to mark.

    Just because the story has stopped doesn't mean that the mystery is done.

    As I continue my hike I find private coves with just me and the Atlantic. The water is cold but warm compared to the frigid temperatures of the Pacific northwest.

    Nothing better than a cold dip on a hot day. As I continue the geology of the area, tells a tale of upheaval and transformation. I find rocks with deep striations from the ice that once invaded the landscape. The same iceage leaving huge boulders strewn about the land as if massive giants left their marbles behind.

    Walk a little further and see the twisting and shifting of the rock layers, tossed on their sides from the volcanic activity, that rocked the area billions of years ago.

    As i continue my journey by the seashore, i come upon an area where the volcanic activity and the action of the waves have created the perfect balance. I find numerous underwater caves.

    One in particular makes me think of the count of Monte Cristo, when he found the treasure in the sea cave. I want to see more but think better of entering such a dark and inhospitable environ.

    Finally to top everything off. I find a massive boulder, the size of a small building sitting beside the ocean. The rock is smooth and hard and the locals have bolted numerous routes for climbing.

    It would seem that adventure is to be found wherever you look.. .
    Read more