Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 45

    Grindelwald, day 2

    May 5 in Switzerland ⋅ ☁️ 8 °C

    Arrived back at the hostel after visiting the Reichenbach Falls. Discovered that the Mexicans had left my dorm and been replaced by Johanna and Therese who are on their gap year inter-railing. They are from Drammen(?) in Norway. After an hour or two together we felt like old friends. Boosted by the fact that Therese was wearing a Liverpool top (Johanna had gone for Barca Messi)!! We went for dinner at the cow restaurant. I had veal Bratwurst. They had pork steak (T) and Wienerschnitzel (J). Had a great evening hanging out. We met up for breakfast the following morning as well before I departed. I do hope we will meet again, perhaps even on their inter-rail tour - although their tour is the most organised ever! so a detour to meet so to me might not be possible.

    I feel very grateful. I’ve met up with some lovely people over the past few weeks, some of whom have been kind enough to offer me accommodation, others who have said they will go climbing with me and others who I hope I will be friends with for a long time. Travelling alone can be challenging and occasionally lonely but this has made it so worthwhile.
    Read more