Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 158

    adventures from 30,000 ft to <2 meters

    January 24, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    Yesterday I flew up to Cairns from Sydney, Australian domestic airport security is freaking hilarious! So I got the train out to the airport and found myself a self check-in machine, tapped in my name and destination...here's your boarding pass...no ID needed? Huh, ok. Walk over to the self bag check scan my boarding card and drop off my bag...no ID needed yet...huh sure. After a quick smoke I head over to the "security" area, put most of my stuff in my bag and head through the metal detector, that goes off... Anything in your pockets sir? Erm cigarettes, passport (not that anyone seems to care), can you go back through and put them through the machine, as I do, back through, goes off again, and the security guards reaction ... "you're alright mate, on you go"....ecsqueeze me? Baking powder?...ok I'll be off into the airport then...wanna see my ID at least? No? Ok... After a quick breakfast I had to the gate where I show....just my boarding pass....I'm now on a3 hour flight across Australia because I knew someone called Stewart Jardine was flying to cairns oh and I repeatedly set off a metal detector and didn't even get wanded or patted down...love it

    After picking up a car I drove an hour up north to port Douglas, absolutely spectacular drive which I cut into a mini video ... https://goo.gl/photos/JbxKwMcZjvSvaDuYA

    Today I checked into the dive centre for my first lesson.... which by the way required a lot more forms and ID showing...and headed off with my instructor to pick up some dive gear and head to a swimming pool for my introduction. It was a good session, breathing underwater, filling, removing and clearing my mask, establishing buoyancy, removing and replacing weight belts and bcd(buoyancy control device) and falling to remember acronyms BWRAF (Bruce Willis ruins all films) ....as I write this I'm still struggling Rico remember...gonna go with breathing, weights, releases.....and.....and, something....and final check...I'll Google it later. Oh and also there's another one I didn't remember that I'll also Google...soooo yea I'm pretty confident for my boat trip at 6.30am tomorrow!
    Read more