Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 164

    Adventures in the Tropical North

    January 30, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    Thursday was a full on recovery day, my head was spinning from the boat and the big old drinking session that me and Jess put in so nothing much to report except if you buy a roast/rotisary chicken from a supermarket over here it comes full of stuffing… come on England get it together they are showing us up!

    Friday I took the advice of a few people I’d met and headed north to a town called Mossman and their spectacular Gorge. It was amazing, tropical rainforests, clear fresh water rivers and waterfalls that you can go swimming in and amazing views. I made a short video : https://www.dropbox.com/s/ze0jkki0xvler84/walk…

    Saturday I thought I would go an explore “4 mile beech”, it is as its name suggests a 4 mile stretch of beech and in a stroke of genius local planning laws have not only restricted building on the beach any building adjoining the beach must be completely hidden by the tree line and set a fair way back. This means that the views are spectacular, the only issue being that during summer months the sea is full of stingers (Pretty sure that just meant jelly fish but I felt silly asking as everyone seemed to know) so the only place you can swim is in a netted area which was a bit small and the water was pretty murky. After a decent walk down the beech and back, a dip in the water and a walk back to the hotel I took advantage of the pool to cool off and then lay and read my book before heading into town for a steak lunch and an afternoon watching rugby 7’s down the pub.

    After the England rugby boys put on a great performance on Saturday I was inspired to head back down to the pub for Sunday afternoon and watch the rest of the tournament, I was later joined by Michelle (My dive instructor) and 2 of her friends, who's names I would almost certainly remember if me and Michelle hadn't drank through the end of the rugby and then for the whole of the Australian Tennis open final between Federer and Nadal… I remember the match being exciting but could give you 0 specifics…

    Unsurprisingly Monday was another chilled out day, bit of pool swimming and a lot of laying on the sofa watching movies, trying to build myself up for my second dive day on Tuesday.
    Read more