Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 165

    Adventures of a certified diver

    January 31, 2017 ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Tuesday was the my last day in port Douglas and my second day out on the boat where I would be assessed on my skills and either PADI certified or not. The day started out very much like my first day on the boat, with a 6.15am walk down to the dock, quick hello to all the crew and quick intros to the other passengers for the day. I had however taken some travel sickness tablets to try and stave off the condition that put a dampener on what was otherwise a spectacular first days diving.

    Unfortunately the wind was up and the ocean was quite a bit more choppy and the pills had little to no effect. Don’t get me wrong I wasn’t puking my guts up and it wasn’t the worst I’ve ever felt but it was enough to lessen my enjoyment of the day. I did however get both of my dives done with much more confidence than the day before and successfully got PADI certified! I also got to take my camera down on my last dive and made a little video:

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/ul9155bwolfpzcz/2nd D…

    Whilst I am really happy I went out and did the diving and saw some spectacular things, the issues I had with the boat, which I am convinced are inner ear related (as it was more than 24 hours on both occasions before I felt completely back to normal) do mean that I will seriously think twice before doing any more.

    Port Douglas is a beautiful place with a great feel and I highly recommend it to anyone that finds them self in that part of the world. Again I made a video of my time there:

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/c9f1dr0bfhg5lvy/port…
    Read more