Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Keiservarden (The Emperor's Cairn)

    April 15, 2023 in Norway ⋅ ☁️ 8 °C

    This afternoon I headed out for an hour or so with Nina's sister, whose acquaintance I made on previous trips. We headed up Keiservarden (roughly translating to the Emperor's Cairn) a 366 meter peak a short way outside Bodø itself. Being a bit more inclined towards outdoorsyness than the friends I'm with it was a great chance for a scenic leg stretch and to catch up with someone I've not seen in years.

    We used a popular trail which starts at about 150meters above sea level. Despite a week of (relatively) warm weather, there was still plenty of snow around, much of it compressed to ice on this popular walking trail. Despite being a fairly experienced hiker, I rarely have to do it on snow, so I was immediately nervous that I would slow down my surefooted Norwegian companion.

    Fortunately the trail had been improved by a team of Nepalese Sherpas for the city's centenary in 2016, so natural stone steps now provide purchase on many steeper sections. Quickly we up the top making small talk as we went. The top, save for the provided walking shelter, gave play to a fierce wind, but offered excellent views in every direction.

    To the south west a clear view of how compact this little city is, and the geography that forces it to be so. To the north west, a great view of Landegode a moderately sized island featuring huge pair of peaks (and site of some of my more precarious Norway adventures in the past). To the south east, across the expanse of the Saltfjord, lies Saltstramen, the world's most powerful maelstrom.
    Read more