Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Day 9 - German embassy in Zagreb

    August 8, 2022 in Croatia ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    I had to get up around 6am, to start walking to the bus station in Zadar around 6:25am, to be there for the departure at 7:30am. It was a nice and refreshing morning walk. I was pretty tired though since I woke upnaroumd 3:30am having around ten mosquitoes inside my tent. It didn't really cool down at night, so I left both tent entrances open for just a little bit. Apparently this was enough for the tiny little beasts. It took me about 20min to get them all and I couldn't really go back to sleep afterwards. They bit me really badly all around my fingers so I basically just soaked them in cream for the rest of the night. Certainly won't make this mistake again.. 😒🙈😅

    The bus ride was fine (3.5 hours) but I had to hurry a little to get to the embassy once we arrived. It was only open until noon, I got there 11:40am. 😅 I don't know exactely what I expected but I certainly assumed it to be well organized - I mean it's the German (!) embassy. 💁‍♀️ I went to the main entrance which was locked (of course) when a guard came and sent me around the corner to the line. And it was a mess. There were around 20+ people sitting oiside on the street with documents in their hands. Obviously all of them Germans, some of them had beem waiting since 9am even though they had an appointment. Occasionally a lady screamed out a name onto the street and that person got up to go inside. I was a little confused and went up the stairs to at least put my name on the list. Some haven't even done that, how would they eben know that they're waiting outside?! 🤔 I still don't get the system. 😅 I was lucky, 20 minutes and 540 Kuna spent I walked out again with a cheap looking green temporary passport. 👌😁

    Next I went into the city center and spontanouslyet up with some couchsurfing people (two travellers from Germany, one from Indonesia living in Germany and a local guy Ante who gave us a fun little tour of the city center. We enjoyed hanging out together and found a lot of common interests. I'm sure I'll see some of them again at some point. 😊 I liked Zagreb, it's a pretty coolnplace with lots of history and lots of green parks in the center to hang out. 👌 After a couple of hours I had to get back to bus, where I currently sit in and eventually arrive at my tent around midnight.
    Read more