Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Day 10 - From Zadar to Nin

    August 9, 2022 in Croatia ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    Recap from last night:
    When I arrived at the bus station in Zadar around 11pm, it already started raining. So I hitchhiked with a German family to the camp ground instead of walking. Think I gave them a huge fright when I approached them at the red lights in the middle of the night. Once I arrived at the camp ground, I found my tent to be soaked and muddy from the bottom and strangely in a slightly different place. Also my power plug, which I left inside (!) the tent was removed. Apparently, someone tried to move my tent to make room for more campervans, even though it was my pitch. By trying to move the tent (I assume it was pulled, even though all my bags were in there and it could have ripped easily due to the weight), the underlaying protection matt got twisted, which caused the tent to leak from the bottom.
    To sum it up: it was a pretty bad night and most of my stuff was slightly wet in the morning. I woke up around 6:15am already and starting cleaning off the mud. Around 7am, the owners of the campground arrived for their morning visit and I asked the woman whether she knows anything about moving my tent. She admitted that it was her and the husband to squeeze in another campervan. I told her about all my stuff being wet and that I find it disrespectful to take stuff out of the tent without asking or me being there. She told me "Okay, you don't have to pay but go." I told her again that it's not about the money, but that's not how you treat paying guests. She didn't even apologize and I went off to get my stuff. I was really sick of this place.

    I was so exhausted from the trip to Zagreb that I didn't feel like cycling all day, so I decided to go to Nin to have a beach day and meet up with Chris and Heike again. On the way I stopped at a bicycle shop in Zadar to have my front tyre checked - I was so annoyed by the bumpy feeling, I just wanted it fixed by now. The guy at the shop was super helpful and friendly, within minutes he not only fixed the bump but also adjusted my brakes and gear switch, and added oil to the chain. It felt like riding a new bike after and he only asked for less than 5€. He made my day. 😁👌🚲
    In Nin I found a nice spot on the beach to set up my hammock. I read for a while and dozed off. It was very windy unfortunately, so I didn't feel like swimming anymore. But at least I could watch many kite surfers in the lagoon. I then strolled around beautiful Nin with Heike and Chris and we had a swim at a different beach before going to a restaurant in the evening to which they invited me. Since they have already spotted a nice place to wild camp on the night, we could take it easy that evening. :)

    The spot was a bit outside Nin close to a forest. We got there on a gravel road along a river during sunset. Arriving there we heard occasional shots in the area, probably someone was hunting ducks. Luckily it stopped once it got dark, it was a little creepy to be honest. 😅
    Read more