Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Day 13 - From Tisno to Šibenik

    August 12, 2022 in Croatia ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    We got up early, as usual, packed our stuff and went back into Tisno for breakfast and a stroll around. Weird thing that happened during our morning coffee in the café: Suddenly the entire city of Tisno was cut off from fresh water, and the café staff seemed really surprised by it. 😅 It happened when I went inside to ask the bar lady to fill up my drinking bottle with tab water, when only little water came, followed by no water at all. She stared at it in a confused way, asking her collegue what just halppened but nobody knew. When I went back outside, we soon found out that there is some major construction on the water pipe line going on in the city but they kind of failed to let the restaurants know. 😅 At least we could charge phones a little and had our coffee already served.. 😁
    After breakfast, we decided to cycle to the north of Murter island. Apparently there is one of the most beautiful beaches of Croatia and I didn't want to miss out on it, even though it's the opposite direction.😅 Chris gave directions and we cycled for like one hour and what felt like 300m elevation gain, even though he insisted that Google said it's only 100m elevation gain. Close to the beach on top of a mountain we locked our bikes and walked down. What we thought to be a remote beach with only fee people turned out to be a really crowded beach with lots of fast food stalls and yachts. It was still beautiful though and we managed to find a more private spot between the trees, where I could set up my hammock. The water had a really unique blue colour and was crystal clear, but freezing cold. 😅
    I stayed there for about two hours with Heike and Chris, before I hit the road again towards mainland and the south. I wanted to ride another 40-60km that day so that I wouldn't arrive too late at Dunja's place (girl from couchsurfing) the next day.
    Luckily, I chose a different route back to Tisno along the coast, which was not hilly at all and was right by the sea. 😁👌

    The road to Šibenik was fine, but it was a little windy from the front. I tried passing the bridge across the by shortly before Šibenik by using the passenger line since the road was narrow and there was a lot of traffic. Due to bungy jumping (no one was there!) in the middle of the bridge, the passenger walk was closed half way and I had to take all the bags off the bike to get it to the other side. There was no sign for that at the beginning of the bridge.. -.-
    Past Šibenik, around 5:45pm, I stopped after turning to check whether it's still the right way and found a little kitten. 🐈‍⬛
    Read more