Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Day 12 - From Turanj to Tisno

    August 11, 2022 in Croatia ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    I was up with the sunshine, packed everything back on my bike (I'm getting better at but it still takes me around 35 min), and cycled to Turanj for some breakfast from the bakery (burek with cheese, they do an amazing job with that in Croatia!). It was already hot in the morning with around 27°C at 8am, so I thought I better get some kilometers done in the morning and have a break during noon.
    The route took me slightly away from the sea along the freshwater lake Vransko Jezero. Unfortunately, it was mostly gravel road and I felt sorry for my already.. 🙈😅 After a few kilometers, I looked for a spot to set up my hammock but realized that there's no place where I could put it, the ropes were too short. This has happened before and I got pretty annoyed by it, so I decided to buy longer ropes as soon as possible and searched for hardware stores along the way. Without a proper break, I cycled for another hour to get back to the sea and stopped at a nice coastline for a swim and lunch break. It wasn't a proper beach, I had to climb down some rocks to reach the water but that way I had the spot all to myself. I topped my lunch with some figs that are literally growing everywhere (I don't understand people buying them here, you'd always find a tree within walking distance). During lunch, I texted with Heike and Chris to see how they're doing. They send me an image of their view from a coffee shop right by the sea and it looked pretty similar to my view. When I got back up to my bike, I saw theirs leaning outside the coffee shop just 50 meters away. 😅 So we randomly caught up again, sat in thecafé for another two hours and decided to cycle together for the rest of the day. We stopped for another swim in Pirovac, a beautiful little village with old brick stone buildings and colourful windows. It has a venetian vibe to it and seemed to be less touristy. It was nice to see locals hanging out on the beach or sitting outside their houses enjoying a coffee on a little table. From there, we cycled another 15km to a little town called Tisno on the island Murter around 4pm. Since the island is quite hilly, it wasn't that easy to find a good spot for camping, so we split up searching around Tisno. We eventually found a good spot, again in a beautiful olive tree yard. Heike and Chris went for dinner in the evening, while I cooked myself some pasta, washed some clothes and reorganised my messy luggage. It was more than necessary. 😅
    Read more