Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Day 33 - Travelling back to Šibenik

    September 1, 2022 in Croatia ⋅ 🌧 22 °C

    The previous days I constantly searched for non-flying ways to get back to Šibenik, but unfortunately there were almost no rides in Blablacar available. The ones I found were leaving mostly from Munich and it was a huge struggle to get there in time before the ride (didn't want to rely on trains..). So the option I was left with was a flight from Basel to Split if I didn't want to spend another week in Germany, which I booked two days in advance - most spontaneous flight for me so far.

    Arriving in Split in the afternoon in miserable rainy and rather cold weather (20°C - notbised to it anymore after almost 40°C the previous week). The flight was fine and you could tell by the clapping after landing that mostly Germans where on the plane. 😅 I didn't plan how to get to Šibenik in advance but thought I either hitchhike or take a bus to get back to Šibenik. Once I arrived, I decided for the latter and took a local bus to Trogir first, which took around 30min even though it wasn't far at all. Apparently, the traffic in the Split area is terrible which I also realised while waiting for the bus to Šibenik for more than two hours! 🥴 It was surprisingly chaotic: In Trogir I asked a service lady at the bus station for a ticket and she told me I would get it on the bus, I just need to wait at platform 9 (in the rain, only a tiny little shelter that was already crowded with people), that's were all long distance busses stop. The lady also said, that busses might be delayed for multiple hours and that they might be full already. So I stood there for more than two hours, as did a nice French guy Damien, who was also waiting for a bus going this direction. As I didn't know where all the other 20+ people were heading, I eventually booked a bus ticket online to be sure to get on the bus once it arrived. Around 6:45pm, the bus finally came. After an hour on the bus chatting with Damien I got off in Šibenik, where Marian picked me up by car. After having some surprise tasty chocolate birthday cake at his place and pasta, I went to bed being pretty exhausted.
    Read more