Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Rheims

    May 7, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    Dreich day here - the rain caught up with me- although the worst of it was before and after. 70k of cycling feels ( and should be) a rest day, so time to have a brief "degustation " of the fizzy stuff on the way through Epernay. Washing it down with the French equivalent of a sausage roll arguably was a bit insulting. Either way, after a glass of fizz everything went a bit pear shaped: my cycle computer stopped route finding for me, the rain started and then I had a hill! Haven't seen one of those since the Pyrenees!! Unfortunately it spat me out on to a busy A road in foggy wet conditions: not nice cycling. Was that my "champagne moment"? A laborious detour allowed me to experience the industrial estates on the outskirts of Rheims.😞 I'd started to question my decision to take this more urban route, but after a visit to the amazing Pommery champagne cellars- and the even more amazing -and huge- Rheims cathedral, it all seemed to make sense. First puncture today - notice the hissing at the doorstep of the hotel. Quick bit of glass removal and tubeless shoogling seems to have it fixed🤞Read more