Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    Bad Malente

    May 18, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☀️ 14 °C

    That's more like it!! Had a much better nights sleep in the dorm than expected - my Brum chums were impressively quiet at whatever time they returned. I was helped by a few beers required in my pursuit of somewhere to watch Man City demolish Real Madrid- and celebrate the same.
    Cycling out through the centre of Hamburg at 8 there was something missing... people / traffic. Turns out it's a national holiday (Ascension day) so I had a pleasant cruise out through the suburbs. No wind. Warmer . An increasing number of undulations( some would call them hills...) were a pleasant addition( might yet regret saying that) and I arrived in Lubeck for an early lunch. Lubeck is the capital of the region, accesses the Baltic Sea, and was virtually untouched by wartime ordinance. Very impressive. Bank holiday atmosphere- live music, beer , sausages- and sun. On a recommendation I cycled on a further 45k to near Plon-the "German switzerland"- and lovely it is too.Rolling greenery and lots of lakes. This is why I go cycling😊
    Read more