Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    Hamburg

    May 17, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    A repeat of yesterday but 40k longer! Good cycle paths, in general . Cold. Windy. And then Hamburg: the biggest conurbation I pass through on this trip. I approached via the docks which, though not pretty, had a good cycle path network and allowed me to cross the Elbe via the st Pauli elbtunnel- a descending lift( is there such a thing?) taking you to a pedestrian/ cyclist tunnel under the river. And free!! For some reason ( ok, cost) have decided to stay in the youth hostel. However they spotted I was no youth and charged me extra!!. Not sure who's going to hate the dormitory more- me or the 4 lads from brum who've got granddad sharing with them!!! So thought I should get into character and headed down the Reeperbahn but just found tawdry tatty sex shows and kebab shops. Fish out of water.Read more