Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    Gothenburg/ Munkedal

    May 23, 2023 in Sweden ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    Rest day!! Late arrival into Gothenburg (Sweden!!) by ferry. The scariest bit of cycling so far was getting off the ferry. Normally you'd be pleased to be allowed off first but as HGV after HGV piled off behind you it was somewhat un-nerving. And it was dark and I was heading into a big unknown city.
    But of course, Sweden has excellent cycle ways so it wasn't too bad . Turns out my hotel was the central station, and very nice too.
    The forecast was for rain , so with this in mind, and with my late night the night before and Gothenburg on my doorstep to explore it was always going to be a short day today. But after I'd wandered the streets for a couple of hours it was hosing it down and cycling didn't seem so appealing
    It's when you're feeling up against it that you make your most cunning plans. Walking back to the hotel dodging the puddles and dripping verandas I conjured up a plan to catch a train 100k up the coast, book into a hotel for 2 nights and train back to Gothenburg tomorrow morning to cycle back ( without bags 👍🏿) .
    So that's why I find myself in a cabin in the woods somewhere half way to Norway tonight🤪
    Read more