Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47

    Munkendal

    May 24, 2023 in Sweden ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    my cunning plan worked out well and I was back in Gothenburg Central with the commuter traffic by 9am. Blue skies and south westerlies too: result!! Getting quite used to amazing cycle paths : getting out of Gothenburg was easy with my own newly tarred path alongside the motorway. Once I'd got through shed city ( inevitably IKEA and Volvo garages) I was in some lovely leafy suburbs on shared but quiet roads. Then there was 30km I have absolutely no recollection of.... 😳
    By 50km I was on the seaside and found a great ( big) buffet lunch . One of life's big questions: when does a burger become a meat ball?
    After lunch I headed over a series of increasingly large bridges onto the Islands of Tjorn and then Orust. There were many similarities to the west coast of Scotland with its complex geography of inlets and promontories. The sea was looking inviting ( but not that inviting) and scattered multicoloured timber framed houses often built directly on the exposed rocky slabs dotted the shoreline. I'm further North than Scotland so why is it so developed here? Anyway, what a lovely part of the world- and how nice not to be encumbered with my panniers!
    Read more