Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 50

    Raufoss

    May 27, 2023 in Norway ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    I felt a degree of apprehension heading beyond Oslo. I couldnt quite put my my finger on it. Size/ distances? Route choices that could have big impacts? Mapping software doesn't cope with Norway so well giving unreliable climbing totals? Less accomodation choice? Trolls? And, of course, the weather? Not sure what, but it meant I was up early and jettisoned my original plan for some more Oslo sightseeing to get on the road. Perfect cycling conditions today- cool, sunny, easy cycle ways/ quiet roads - and , at last, a tail wind!! Just as well as 140km with significant climbing and some gravel ahead- but that was on the recommendation - and to get to the home of- Pierre, my warm showers host tonight. And what a brilliant route he suggested, away from the main drag alongside the E6 and into the back country. The gravel was smoother than most Scottish roads and the tail wind fairly blew me to the top! The first roadside snow. And perfect timing as the clouds were gathering and the first few heavy drops of rain fell 100m from my destination.
    Time "to stop and smell the roses " with lunch at a posh hotel. ( the only option, honest!) a chill amongst some lakeside hyttes and a chat to a mad Latvian who insisted on free coffee and ice cream when my bank card didn't work. Moose warning signs but no moose ( mooses? Mice??). Fantastic hosts here in Raufoss: Pierre a font of knowledge on route choices with a map obsession almost as severe as mine
    Read more