Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 63

    Reipa

    June 9, 2023 in Norway ⋅ ☁️ 10 °C

    another stunning day! Despite planning an early night I stayed up for the midnight sun... which was rather like the sun at any other time of day. That said, I'm quite happy to still see it!! I also planned a leisurely start but my cycling buddies cohort all had plans for the first ferry and a wee touch of FOMO grabbed me so I was up with the larks too. And what a stunning morning: beautiful reflections across the becalmed fjord as we crossed the arctic circle on ferry #1.
    Then followed two 30km legs around different fjords with a ferry inbetween and a critical one at the end of the day to get me back to civilisation. Each fjord conjured up a different mix of vertiginous peaks , waterfalls and impossibly pretty clapperboard fishing huts. However I arrived at ferry#2 to see marked inactivity and to hear that the ferry wasn't working and it would be maybe mid afternoon before a replacement would be available ( sounds a bit cal-Mac-y?? Think you spoke too soon,Krish). Oh dear! Not a chance of getting ferry#3 and likely a struggle to find accommodation. After some discussion a friendly Norwegian tourist decided he should flag down a motor boat to give me a lift and 10 minutes later there I was being blasted across the fjord! The kindness of strangers!
    Inevitably, the next leg was stunning - up an arrow straight freshly scoured glaciated valley.... and back down the other side. 20km cycled, 1km further north! However Ferry #3 was caught with ease and allowed an early finish in my hytte ( cabin) on the campsite. Now I'm within striking distance from Bodo, a rest day or two, and the arrival of Ewen.
    Read more